Forum Movie Reviews


Below is a directory of the forum community's movie review topics.

Please note that member reviews and comments in general do not represent the opinions of The Box Office Theory or its operators.



   

Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Movie Information
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens
    Studio: Lucasfilm
    Director: J.J. Abrams
    Actors: Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley
    Release Date: 1/3/2030     120 minutes
  • Reviews
    Wednesday, December 16, 2015 by #ED2-D2

    Discuss.

     

     

    TROLLING WILL NOT BE TOLERATED. Please put in a review if you vote in the poll.

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by CoolioD1

    not great. gotta say I loved this for the first act (What a waste of von sydow tho) but it got less and less for me from there. draggy in the middle and the dogfight in the climax never held my interest in the way they did in the originals. in fact aside from that last lightsaber fight a lot of the action felt uninspired. of the new characters I liked rey and kylo ren. finn and poe dameron coast more on charisma of the actors rather than anything interesting on the page but they're fine. would've liked to see the relationship of han and kylo explored more so han's death could've felt BIGGER. but whatever. Snoke design did nothing for me. felt like a template of a gross cgi dude.

     

    Overall felt like a table setting movie and now that we've gotten that and all the "HOW ABOUT THOSE OLD MOVIES HUH?" business out of the way hopefully Johnson can give us something real special for 8. I'm bummed I didn't like it more. It's like a C+

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by Phil in the Blank

    JJ did it folks. We finally have a worthwhile film in the franchise for the first time since 1983. 

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by Salacious Tree Crumb

    I don't want to just sound like an echo for Coolio but I share his thoughts almost exactly. The first act is great, but it goes downhill fast, laying waste to actors, characters and relationships in favour of rehashing scenes from the original movie and doing little else. John Boyega is fun, Oscar Isaac is a magnetic gem, Ridley though is pretty poor. All three of them are unexplored, as is the disappointing relationship between Han and Kylo (in fact, this is the most disappointing thing about the movie). There were a couple of great action setpieces, although the final air assault at Starkiller Base was underwhelming. Music was dull. The film was very funny though.

     

    I do agree that with this one finished and with new characters introduced, the next film has plenty of room to do something interesting.

     

    But ultimately, it ain't very good.

    Edited by Salacious Tree Crumb
    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by bapi

    Basically it's just one big fan-service and I don't really know what the story actually was about? 7-8/10 right now but have a feeling after few more months I'll be more negative towards this movie.

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by The Stingray

    Loved it!
     
    It's fun, it's exciting, it has heart and a warmth to it that was sorely missing in the prequels, it has the tone and the physical look and feel of old Star Wars, as opposed to the shitty artificial videogame visuals of the prequels, with their boring overwhelming plastic CG. The cinematography is beautiful (there are some gorgeous shots in there). The action scenes are top-notch and don't feel over-the-top like in the prequels. The new characters are mostly great, although, in my opinion, none of them, with the possible exception of Rey (who steals the show), will become as iconic as, say, a Han Solo or Darth Vader. Kylo Ren is pretty cool tho. Also, there's real chemistry between the characters.

     

    I think one of JJ's biggest accomplishments, however, which I didn't think he would be able to pull off, is recapturing the spirit of Star Wars. Some of my favorite moments are the ones early on with Rey (:wub:) alone on Jakku, scavenging and just trying to get by. It is in those moments that I feel the movie truly captures that sense of adventure and wonder being just over the horizon, of longing to matter and be someone.

     

    On the negative side, story-wise it's not very original (the plot is too similar to A New Hope), and there are a few too many winks to the past. The movie also feels a bit rushed.
     
    At the end of the day it's great entertainment, it brings Star Wars back with a bang and wipes away the bad taste left by the prequels. I'd say it's on par with Jedi, perhaps even better.
     
    Pending between 8.5 and 9/10.
     

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by ShouldIBeHere

    I think this one is shaped by the franchise's past more than its future. For some that is a win, for some it is a bit underwhelming.

     

    B-

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by The Dark Samurai

    It's so ridiculously hypocritical the critics gave Singer such a hard time for basically living in the past for Superman Returns but turn a blind eye at J.J for freakin remaking A New Hope. This film is nothing but shameless Nostalgia manipulative money grab...as a sequel or even worse, as a stand alone film, it's a complete void.

     

    As soon as the film started with the R2D2 copy being the vessel for an important information, my heart sank and i knew the derivative master J.J has done the same thing he did with STID and the only thing he excess at, copying other films in an attempt to recreate the past. He did it with Super 8, he did it with STID and now with TFA.

     

    So disappointing to finally have a continuation of the original films when in fact nothing makes logical sense from a continuation stand point and the original trilogy is made a useless, vain attempt that hasn't resulted in anything. 

     

    The Empire-First Order

    The Emperor/Vader-Snoke/Ren

    The Rebellion/The Resistance

    Pilot Luke left by on a desert planet/Pilot Rei left on a desert planet

    Old mentor gets killed by Darth Vader/Old mentor gets killed by Darth Vader-lite

    Newborn Jedi Luke goes to Joda/Newborn Jedi Rei goes to Luke

     

    Shame on Disney, shame on J.J and shame on me for actually thinking this will be original and good.

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by Amadeus

    Alright I guess. But I truly miss George Lucas now. He took the time to establish his different worlds. You could see a descent last for like 30 seconds. In this one? 5 seconds. Maybe less. Remember when the x-wings attacked the death star in A New Hope or when Obi-Wan landed on Kamino? It took those fighters a good minute before the attack really began? In this one? -- "The Rebels are comin!"/Bang!
    No tension.


    And I miss all that jumbo-dumbo about the force and dysfunctional families. The time they took to sit and straight things out about what happened between the films. Yes, more films will be coming -- and lots of them! Answers there will be. But this, unlike the other six, doesn't quite work on its own terms. It is like Disney has turned Star Wars into a stupid TV-show.


    What else? Yeah... Remember how smoothly characters were presented in the old films (yes, even those from 1999, 2002, and 2005)? You know 3PO and R2 seeing Darth Vader enter the scene and meeting Luke Skywalker before the film changes its perspective from 3PO's and R2's point of view to be seen from Luke's perspective in the Cantina scene? Or how the galaxy evolved in TPM? In this one? Here the characters are so randomly presented that the movie becomes such an inconsistent mess.

     

    But whats good then?

     

    Han Solo delivers!

    D+

    Edited by Amadeus
    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by hasanahmad

    The movie was ridiculously good. I don't know what you all above are smoking or are being purposely contrarian or just trolling, looking at the critics reviews, reviews from users on Twitter and Facebook and non Star Wars forums and IMDb and RT user reviews and metacritic . All are overwhelmingly positive and I come here and it starts overwhelmingly negative.

     

    A+

    Edited by hasanahmad
    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by ddddeeee

    B-/C+ on a first viewing. Coolio pretty much nailed it.

     

    The whole climax was astonishingly unexciting and the whole 'this isn't another Death Star because we say so' part made me laugh out loud.

     

    Williams really could have tugged at the heartstrings with a more stirring rendition of the Han/Leia love theme after Han died, missed opportunity.

    Edited by ddddeeee
    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by CoolioD1

    it's gotta be such a bummer when you've gotta make your entire star wars review about what other people thought of the movie.

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by hasanahmad

     

    Nah just pointing out the twilight zone effect I got .

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by Darth Rallax

    It's a B for me.  

     

    To me the worst offenders are the awful nods to the originals.  Like Han asking if there's a garbage chute or a trash compactor on Starkiller?  :sick:  Star Wars should NEVER do meta.  It was bad in the prequels, and it's bad here.  

     

    It was brisk and I didn't feel like we got too short-changed on the new characters.  Rey and Finn are the two most important ones and I'm fine with how they were presented.  We don't need to know everything about them or their past for them to be good characters.  They worked very well with each other and had great chemistry, and I can't wait to see how their relationship progresses. 

     

    Kylo was great.  Hux has some potential.  Phasma got the shaft.  Jury is still out on Snoke.  

     

    I'll watch it again or a few more times to see how it holds up, but right now, I'm content with it and I'm very excited to see what Johnson does with it.  

     

     

     

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by redfirebird2008

     

    Is Lucas going to have the last laugh after the fans bashed him for the last 15 years? "Be careful what you wish for, you just might get it." Box office should be fun to track at least even if it's just Disney cashing in on the enormous popularity of the original films (and yes, the prequels).

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by BKB IS CAPTAIN AMERICA

     

    It's called the Butthurt Syndrome knowing your beloved future franchise movie, whether that's TA3 or BvsS or even JL will not even come close to what this movie is going to generate and it pisses people off deep down to the point where the 1st viewing of this, they're determined to tear it apart piece by piece in an effort to quell the hype and unfortunately, it's not going to work and people just won't buy into this shit.. The movie is THAT good and as for all the complaining about too many nods to the Old Trilogy, that's too Damn bad cause there was no other way to go.. YES, The Prequels made $$$, but they were not what the fans wanted.. They just weren't... When people think of STAR WARS, they think of the Classic characters folks.. It's just that simple..

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by Goffe

    Underwhelmed as hell, and I'm not even an SW fan.

     

    the good: I thought the first act, the whole Jakku section, was incredible (it goes downhill fast after Han Solo first appears), I was really into it and the humor was perfect. Some scenes such as Death Star 3.0 in action, the forest lightsaber fight, and Solo death were amazingly done. Fin and Rey were also pretty entertaining characters.

     

    the bad: my biggest problem with it was the script, too much bad dialogue; poor and thin character arcs; overstuffed and little substance; the fast pace never lets the character breathe and most disappointing aspect of all, it feel like a rehash of the previous movies, almost like an ANH remake, with entire plot points lifted from it. The old cast was sleepwalking through the whole movie.


    Definitely the worst film JJ, one of my favorite modern filmmakers, has done so far. 65/100

    Edited by Goffe
    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by redfirebird2008

     

    Why are you attacking other people when you haven't seen the film? Maybe they are right, maybe it is a total rehash of A New Hope. I'm curious to see how it plays myself.

    Thursday, December 17, 2015 by BKB IS CAPTAIN AMERICA

     

    Because this was so predictable you would be getting people ripping into this for as much hype as it's receiving and it's natural Red.. It happens with every major blockbuster including JURASSIC WORLD and it will happen with BvsS and TA3 when both come out.. It's just the nature of the beast when it comes to shit like this... ;)

  • Amazon

 
While We're Young (2015)
  • Movie Information
    While We're Young (2015)
    Studio: A24
    Director: Noah Baumbach
    Actors: Ben Stiller, Naomi Watts, Adam Driver, Amadna Seyfried, Adam Horovitz
    Release Date: 3/27/2015     97 minutes
  • Reviews
    Friday, April 24, 2015 by k1stpierre

    Discuss :)

    Friday, April 24, 2015 by Blankments
    It started as I feared, with being pretentious hipster crap ("Hey, have you heard of this movie called Strike!?" Yes, Adam Driver, literally anyone past first semester in film school has heard of Strike.), but after about a half hour, sets into a nice groove with an interesting take on documentary filmmaking. It had a really good ending too, and even though she was in the least of the main four, I really enjoyed Amanda Seyfried's presence here, which surprised me because I don't usually even notice her. Happy I saw it. B+
    Monday, November 23, 2015 by Goffe

    the hipsterness of it all, mostly contained in the first act, had me rolling my eyes pretty fucking hard, but something in there was compelling as hell, and as the movie went on and on, it became more and more compelling. Maybe it was the relatable characters or it being "piercingly honest", I don't really know.  85/100

    Edited by Goffe
  • Amazon

 
Terminator: Genisys (2015)
  • Movie Information
    Terminator: Genisys (2015)
    Studio: Paramount
    Director: Alan Talyor
    Actors: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jason Clarke, Emilia Clarke, Jai Courtney, J.K. Simmons
    Release Date: 7/1/2015     125 minutes
  • Reviews
    Monday, June 29, 2015 by DeeCee

    I'm a huge fan of both T1 and T2. With T1 having the slight edge. T3 is OK action movie but it's pretty much a rehash and it doesn't get the tone right. Although I did like the ending.

    I really enjoyed this. It plays with the events of T1 in a neat way. The movie keeps a steady pace with some pretty good action. Arnie is much better here then in T3 and everyone else is pretty good.

    I am annoyed at the marketing giving away a key plot point.

    Also, it really is a film that depends on the attitude you take into the viewing experience. I can see why some may not like it the way I have.

    Monday, June 29, 2015 by baumer

    Thanks D.

     

    Can't wait to see this on Wednesday.

    Tuesday, June 30, 2015 by rallax

    Not good.

     

    The action is all-round terrible.  That Arnie vs. Arnie fight that everyone is excited for?  it's a damn joke.  

     

    Awful script that took the time travelling waaaay too far and that's coming from someone who fucking loves time travel.  It never really works, but you shouldn't write it in such a way that it isn't at least sort of feasible.  This ain't that.  It's a dumb fucking jumble that doesn't stand up to any thought whatsoever.  Then they layer on some more!

     

    I did think Emilia was a decent Sarah Connor though.  

    Tuesday, June 30, 2015 by Caboose

    There are now more bad Terminator movies than good ones. Just inept all around.

    Tuesday, June 30, 2015 by DeeCee

    This may contain spoilers.

    Although I went with flow of the movie these are my questions which weren't answered in the movie.

    Who sent a T-1000 back to kill young Sarah Conner at the lake?

    Who sent Arnie back to save her?

    How was Arnie able to kill a T-1000 when he saved young Sarah at the lake?

    Why could Arnie build a functioning time machine pre-1984 but John Conner of 2017 hasn't yet?

    How does John Conner even exist if Sarah and Kyle have yet to do the deed?

    The movie seems to hint at the idea of a multi-verse. Kyle Reese has memories of two different times lines. Is this something that is supposed to be developed in any sequels?

    Tuesday, June 30, 2015 by baumer

     

    Something about the space time continuum.  It's heavy.

    There's a problem with the Earth gravitational pull in the future. :)

    Tuesday, June 30, 2015 by The Stingray

    From the main thread:

     

    Terrible. The story is a mess. The execution lackluster, no style or flair. The action is the standard shit we've come to expect from most modern blockbusters, lacking both edge and creativity. The inane T3-style "comedic" moments are back and are as cringeworthy as ever. The same can also be said for a lot of the dialogue. Clarke and Courtney are horribly miscast. Both are utterly unconvincing in their roles.

     
    All in all Genisys is the kind of dull, forgettable, CG-heavy and OTT blockbuster suitable only for today's ADD audience. Me, I'm getting too old for this shit.
     
    4/10 Edited by The Stingray
    Tuesday, June 30, 2015 by DeeCee

    It's Matthew Smith now.  Do you know what character he plays?

     

    He's Skynet.  He isn't actually in it very much. He's in it for about 30 seconds with one line of dialogue when Kyle Reese goes back and then during the climax he's a hologram.

     

    Did the marketing reveal his character?  

    Edited by DeeCee
    Wednesday, July 01, 2015 by CJohn

    I was promised reviews from gb and Baumer. Where are them?!

    Lmao at Matt Smith having 30 seconds of screen time.

    Wednesday, July 01, 2015 by baumer

    I'll be there at first showing today.  Going to be a glorious day.  Terminator, beer, bbq.

    Wednesday, July 01, 2015 by 75live

    Ok, I'll try to give a more full review than the other threads

     

    I love the beginning how they match up this movie with the original and some of T2.  Basically it shows or talks abo ut how they finally kill off Skynet and find the time machine.  It is really all that was missing from the future stories to connect to the start of T1.  The Arnold vs Arnold fight was good.  yes it was a tad shorter than I wanted, but when the older one showed up in the silloette and did the "you won't be needing any clothes" and "I've been waiting for you", the crowd went nuts.

     

    Then following Reese through his whole store and all and seeing how evenrts are now different all around him but he is still doing the same stuff, down to the velcroing of the Nikes, was kind of cool too.

     

    I liked most of the action.  I think the helicopter chase was probably the best part of that.

     

    I think Emilia did pretty good for her part.  I think people forget that in T2, she is much older where here she is still just 20 years old.  So she is still tough, but a bit youthful at the same time.  I don't see a problem in that personally.

     

    Arnold was great, as usual.  i think them showing that a Terminator can grow attachment was a different, but nice touch.  Plus the "upgrade" was pretty good too.

     

    The one completely out of place scene was the Cops theme song playing as they were getting the mug shots.  Don't get me wrong, it was funny, but at the same time, just seemed off.  But the crowd liked it.

     

    Which brings me to the humor, it all worked.  It may be more light hearted than all the other movies, but me and crowd didn't seem to mind.

     

    Jai Courtney was ok.  He did seem a little dry at times even when he wasn't supposed to be.  He didn't ruin the film for me, so I didn't care too much.

     

    There is a mid credit scene and I do mean mid credit.  It just pops up out of nowhere.  It basically shows that Skynet is still alive.

     

    I didn't stay until the end as usual as I had to leave, but I didn't hear there was an end credit though

     

    I could go on, but I think that's a lot of the film

     

    I give it at least a B as it was, at worst, a fun movie.

    Wednesday, July 01, 2015 by baumer

    I found the film to be a bit of a mess.  I did enjoy parts of it and I didn't hate it but there's just way too much altering of the Terminator time line for me to accept.  I guess it can all be chalked up to the line in BTTF 2 where Doc talks about the space time continuum and how the 1985 they now know is not the 1985 they knew before they left. But that's really a stretch.  They really take liberties with the film.  Now, I'm going to get this out of the way immediately.  I don't understand how just because the film is pg-13 that they can't show an ass.  They showed Winslet's breasts in Titanic and there have been plenty of ass shots in films when it's pg-13.  But when Arnold from 84 gets to LA, they black out his ass.  As silly as that sounds, it took me out of the film, albeit briefly.  Then the big fight happens, old grey haired T-800 vs 1984 T-800.  What a waste.  This is where the direction really lacked, or this is where it started to lack. It needed Cameron's eye to do it right and unfortunately, the fight was completely wasted.  For inspiration they should have used the T-1000 fight with Arnold at the mall.  This fight was so horrible that it really left me disappointed.

     

    Now all the time line stuff really gave me a headache.  I can buy that not all of the exposition was told to us, they seem to be saving it for the next film.  But there was just too much of it.  Sara meeting a Terminator at age 9.  John Connor becoming a super Terminator.  John Connor getting accosted by Skynet just as Reese is leaving.  The Terminator apparently worked at Genisys.  Connor works for Genisys.  An alternate time line where Reese has memories of him as a kid in the year 2017.  It's just not something that makes a whole lot of sense.

     

    As I mentioned, the film lacked good direction.  When I check Alan Taylor's credits, it does not surprise me that he directed Thor the Dark World.  It's probably the worst Marvel film and it bored me to tears.  I think he was out of his element here.  It felt stale in a lot of places.  He certainly didn't allow Arnold to be Arnold and I think there were a lot of places that needed more skill.  

     

    I thought Emilia was terrific.  She had the Sara Connor look and her anger was well placed.  She was easily my favourite part of the film.  I also thought Jai was good.  He was actually good despite what was written for him.  I also liked JK simmons a lot and my favourite part of the movie was everything after the bad boys line up shot right up to the end of the helicopter chase.  That felt like we were in a Cameron Terminator.    I didn't quite get why Arnold was upgraded.  Did he fall into the liquid metal pool and now he is part T-1000?  

     

    I'm a little disappointed in the film, I expected more.   I didn't hate it the way I did with Salvation but they could have done a lot more.

     

    6/10

    Wednesday, July 01, 2015 by CJohn

    LMAO HOLY SHIT, THIS IS HOT GARBAGE. PULL IT FROM THEATERS NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW.

     

    yX3FjLx.gif

    Wednesday, July 01, 2015 by CJohn

    Alan Taylor is a puppet director like many others. He is a nothing. He has no vision of anything, so the direction being shit doesn't surprise. 

  • Amazon

 
Spectre (2015)
  • Movie Information
    Spectre (2015)
    Studio: MGM
    Director: Sam Mendes
    Actors: Daniel Craig, Christoph Waltz, Lea Seydoux, Ralph Fiennes, Monica Bellucci
    Release Date: 1/3/2030     0 minutes
  • Reviews
    Tuesday, October 27, 2015 by antovolk

    Review/stream of thoughts.

    It's fun. Very very fun. Craig's amazing in this, Seydoux is great if a bit too underwritten and too polarizing characterisation (thanks script rewrites), too little Monica which is a bit expected tbh, Whishaw and Fiennes are MVPs, Waltz is great. So many laughs and cheers in the audience. This is definitely the 21st century version of classic Bond. First 15 minutes, from the first frame of the MGM logo, are absolutely fantastic. Thing is, it feels like it should've been even longer, like 160 minutes even, between the end of the Mexico sequence and Austria it feels really cut down for time, not to mention that it's played far too straight and breezy sterile  (thanks again script rewrites) with exception of a couple of fantastic scenes such as the Rome meeting  But pacing improves as we go along, and actually the film gets stronger as it goes on, surprisingly the third act is very strong IMO. Dat cinematography (give Hoyte an Oscar finally please), and the song (which Newman actually does his own arrangement of in a later scene) actually works with the amazing titles from Kleinman. 

    Overall, very fun and enjoyable but not perfect and not Skyfall. It feels a bit too sterile for the sort of thing this really goes for, it should've embraced and been more operatic in both the emotional and the fun sense in some bits, if you see what I mean. Closer to TDKR in that sense - after all, this is indeed TDKR - if you make CR/QoS Begins and SF TDK.

    Other points:
    - First minute will make any Bond fan squee
    - title sequence is mother of all couch gags
    - dat opening tracking shot
    - Epic cheers at end of train fight (you'll see why)
    - a certain line from Fiennes got the biggest laugh and cheers
    - JAMES BOND WILL RETURN at the end of credits.

    8/10

    Trailers: The Hateful Eight teaser (no reaction), Dad's Army teaser (no reaction), Mockingjay Part 2 theatrical (some murmurs of "this is the last Hunger Games"), Star Wars TFA final (cheers and applause at opening shot followed by nearly stunned silence)

    MEGA SPOILER THOUGHTS AND ANALYSIS/SCRIPT-TO-SCREEN BELOW

     

    Throw any questions my way.

    Edited by antovolk
    Friday, October 30, 2015 by sambullus

    It is a derivative, soulless mess. It begins well enough, but the bizarre title sequence (hentai?) and the utterly wretched theme song mark the beginning of one of the worst Bonds ever.

    Craig looks like methuselah and (perhaps because of age) the physical commitment he made in his first film is gone.

    Seydoux is bland and mainly a damsel in distress. She has no chemistry with Craig, which makes the ending of the film even more ridiculous.

    Waltz is wasted as Blofeld and the whole foster brother thing is even stupider than it was in the Austin Powers movie they stole it from. The idea that he is behind all of the events in Craig's bond films is moronic.

    Bellucci is wasted and her seduction scene is soporific

    apart from the helicopter scene, the only setpiece worth a damn is the train fight. The car chase idsbeautifully photographed but dull. there is no sense of danger. Bond even makes a phone call during it.

    Andrew Scott is miscast as an ineffectual pantomime villain in Sherlock, and he is no better here.

    Whishaw is good, Fiennes shines. he gets one of tne few funny lines in the film, but why does he gurn so much? he looks like Rigsby in Rising Damp.

    the action climax is a direct steal from an episode of Dempsey and Makepiece.

    the torture scene seems pointless.

    the film has bigger plotholes than Skyfall

     

    Friday, October 30, 2015 by Jake Gittes

    I guess every forthcoming review in this thread will just be a variation of one of the comments above

    Friday, October 30, 2015 by The Stingray

    Aside from a phenomenal opening, I thought this was an utterly mediocre movie. I guess those Sony leaks about the script being a mess were accurate.

    5.5/10

    Btw, Craig is getting too old for this shit.

    Friday, October 30, 2015 by bapi

    What I read in those leaked e-mails did sound like something from Spider-man 3 (or from a tv series in its 7th season).

    Saturday, October 31, 2015 by theultimatebiu

    Surprisingly average. It starts of well, but drowns in its own self-importance.

     

    6/10

    Sunday, November 01, 2015 by solaris

    Fine, I guess? It's not QoS level dull. The TDKR comparisons are very apt - there's some amazing nuggets of stuff here packaged into a rather dull and overlong movie (and one that doesn't know whether to take itself seriously or just nudge nudge wink wink all the way). When the film comes to life, it's great - but there's some dreadfully dreary stuff in the middle that kills the film dead. I mean, I left the film about 20 minutes ago and everything in the Alps & in Morocco is a complete blur.

    Also, Craig is the least invested in this he's ever been. He was fine, but he seems to have metamorphosed into a punny Moore-alike somewhere along the way. 

    And yet, there's still plenty of fun to be had. Although the pacing of certain 'reveals' are really off, I actually quite like all of the SPECTRE/evil-villains-lair stuff. Q & M are great, Fiennes & Whishaw are having way more fun with this than Craig seems to. 

    So yeah - a solid B. Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed. 

    Monday, November 02, 2015 by Rorschach

    So I will either love it or find it boring beyond belief. Got it.

    Monday, November 02, 2015 by Comment_author cAuthorPane ipsColumn ipsColumn_medium">

    thanks for the review, i've read some reviews on a website (www.themoviescout.com) about this movie before and i was not sure i would go to the cinema to see this movie. But i think i will give it a try, thanks!

    Monday, November 02, 2015 by Comment_author cAuthorPane ipsColumn ipsColumn_medium">

    thanks for the review, i've read some reviews on a website (www.themoviescout.com) about this movie before and i was not sure i would go to the cinema to see this movie. But i think i will give it a try, thanks!

    Tuesday, November 03, 2015 by BKB IS CAPTAIN AMERICA

    Well I think Daniel Craig was Quoted recently saying he's sick of playing this character, or something to that effect..

    Thursday, November 05, 2015 by bapi

    Ohh man this was so so bad, probably the worst Bond movie since Dalton?

     

    4/10

    Thursday, November 05, 2015 by bapi

    My main problem is that twist from Austin Powers. It's just so unreal, so unbelievable... that all four Craig movies were built around something so stupid and ridiculous.

    Thursday, November 05, 2015 by The Stingray

     

    Die Another Day?

     

    Also, I like the Dalton Bonds.

    Thursday, November 05, 2015 by bapi

    I like only of them. Die Another Day is entertaining in some way. Maybe time will chnge it but DAD I'm at least able to tolerate when it's on TV. But Spectre... I just don't need to see that movie ever again.

  • Amazon

 
Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation (2015)
  • Movie Information
    Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation (2015)
    Studio: Paramount
    Director:
    Actors: Tom Cruise, Jeremy Renner, Simon Pegg, Sean Harris
    Release Date: 12/15/2015     131 minutes
  • Reviews
    Wednesday, July 29, 2015 by k1stpierre

    Discuss :)

    Edited by Telemachos
    Wednesday, July 29, 2015 by Telemachos

    OH GOD OH GOD OH GOD

     

     

     

     

    (edited your title) :ph34r:

    Wednesday, July 29, 2015 by k1stpierre

    Huh? :lol: what did I put?

    Thursday, July 30, 2015 by The Dark Alfred

    Absolutely loved it. The Swedish chick stole the show. An incredible cinematic experience, perfect popcorn fun. Yes, the story has flaws and the villain is a miscast, the character is good, but he just doesn't have a great screen presence. Cruise is amazing, the stunts were great, but I was more impressed with the handfights. Must say the water stunt was a bit underwhelming expected the camera to be on him a bit longer. Loved the opera sequence and the music choice. It's a very stylish film, the reviews were right it feels like a Bond film. Best bit? Motorcycle chase. 10/9

    Thursday, July 30, 2015 by bapi

    Yeah, it's really good and can't decide between this and Mad Max. I didn't like totally love any movie this summer but Rogue Nation is very entertaining (maybe the best M:I movie yet) and Rebecca Ferguson was amazing.

     

    8/10

    Thursday, July 30, 2015 by Telemachos

     

    NYX-Rouge-Cream-Blush.jpg

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by Jake Gittes

    A ton of fun. At least as good as the fourth one, maybe even better, because the third act isn't noticeably weaker than the middle, and Rebecca Ferguson's character and performance are much more engaging than those of any of the previous female leads. Like Ghost Protocol and the last couple F&F movies, it's basically three enormous, very elaborate set-pieces stitched together with the bare-bones plot and exposition, but all of them are hugely entertaining. The opera scene is the most stylish and my personal favorite; sadly, Robert Elswit doesn't get a whole lot to do afterwards, and for all its thrills, MI5 doesn't feel very distinctive from other huge action movies, which is one of its weaknesses along with a lot of just-go-with-it plotting and a villain who's somewhat effective but ultimately feels like a much less memorable or threatening version of Philip Seymour Hoffman in MI3. 

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by Jonwo

    In regards to the ending, was Alec Baldwin's character the secretary of IMF the whole time or did he take over the position, similar to how Gareth Mallory took over as M in Skyfall?

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by 4815162342

     

    He took over once Hunt/Brandt convinced him the IMF was still useful (so between capturing Solomon and the final hearing scene at the end)

     

     

     

    Very good, very fun.

    Edited by 4815162342
    Friday, July 31, 2015 by The Dark Alfred

    I hope Rebecca Ferguson returns for MI6. Them Swedish legs and that gorgeous Ingrid Bergman look

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by Gopher

    Yeah, wow, Rebecca Ferguson. Starmaking performances are rare, but this is one if I've ever seen it. 

     

    The whole MI series epitomizes the success of Cruise's career: working with top directors, recognizing his strengths as a star (and the persona he has created for himself), and generally making the most fun movies possible. This along with Edge of Tomorrow are an apex. McQuarrie has made the best MI movie, with the tightest plot and characterization of the inevitably convoluted spy drama and the most jam-packed visual storytelling. There's not a frame wasted here (I enjoyed F7 plenty but there's way less fat here), sequences like the opera house and the spinning tank fit in seamlessly and are executed wonderfully, and Elswit continues to prove why he's one of the best DPs out there. 

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by Claire Evans Holt

    I can't wait to see this with my dad. Hope he ends up stanning for this.

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by Ethan Hunt

    Well... First thing first thing first this is not Ghost Protocol or any of the other films in this franchise for that matter. This is definitely its own film.

    The action here definitely isn't as exciting as Ghost Protocol here. There is no Burj Khalifa stunt, there is no chase through the sandstorm, there is no Fight in the parking garage. The thing is though that the film relies very minimally on action sequences.

    Ghost Protocol is practically built around having wonderfully intense action sequences. This film instead brings the characters in a new direction fleshes all of them out a little more and form the first time one begins to question: Does Ethan really know what he's doing?

    Brandt and Benji both also receive a different look and more conflict with in themselves.

    Rebecca Ferguson is a nice add. She's not as insanely likable as Paula Patton but she plays a major part in the films story and is incredibly appreciated non the less.

    Oh yeah the villain if fucking amazing. He and Ethan feel like they have a similar connection to Batman and the Joker in TDK, except its cooler because Ethan is cooler than Batman.

    All in all its much smarter than the previous M:I instalments and can actually be quite thought provoking....

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by 4815162342

    I loved the action in this one because it managed to feel real. The only time the action felt silly was when the car Ethan and Benji were in flipped end-over-end about 20 times.

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by baumer

    Loved it. Cruise and Ferguson were awesome.

    8.5 /10

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by redfirebird2008

    Movie is worth the price of admission for Rebecca Ferguson alone. The action sequences kicked ass too.

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by rallax

    It's good but I'm not over the moon about it like everyone seems to be.

    Also, correct me if I'm wrong, but after 5 movies, 2 is the only one where Ethan isn't disavowed or directly going against the IMF isn't it?

    1 - he has to go rogue to find the mole and clear his name

    2 - he is given an assignment by IMF and carries it out

    3 - another mole in IMF, and he is a fugitive, goes rogue to steal something for the bad guy

    4 - entire IMF is disavowed via "ghost protocol" he and his team are all on their own to clear the name of the IMF.

    5 - the entire IMF is shut down and he goes rogue to stop the rogue nation

    Maybe it's just me, but come on!

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by Ethan Hunt

    I agree to some extent (there is absolutely nothing wring with a simple spy mission for Christ sake) but if they keep delivering great movies I can live with it

    Friday, July 31, 2015 by shayhiri

     

    After Mad Max.

     

    And U.N.C.L.E.

     

    PS: But much better than everything else, yeah.

    Edited by The Mediocre Dinosaur
  • Amazon

 
Ant-Man (2015)
  • Movie Information
    Ant-Man (2015)
    Studio: Walt Disney Studios
    Director: Peyton Reed
    Actors: Paul Rudd, Michael Douglas, Evangeline Lilly, Corey Stoll, Bobby Cannavale
    Release Date: 12/8/2015     117 minutes
  • Reviews
    Wednesday, July 15, 2015 by k1stpierre

    Discuss :)

    Thursday, July 16, 2015 by DeeCee

    It's a lot of fun and quite hilarious.  The things that looked a bit silly in the trailer work much better in the context of the movie.  They try to build up that there's a lot at stake but it doesn't really seem like it.  The Falcon cameo was great.

     

    "Isn't this the point where we just call The Avengers?"

     

    It's just a really enjoyable ride.

    Edited by DeeCee
    Thursday, July 16, 2015 by darkelf

    The action scenes are probably the best in the whole MCU and I was pleasantly surprised that I wasn't bored by the end. It's quite funny too and I really liked Rudd as the hero.

     

    8/10

     

    Disappointed they left out the 'Huh' from the movie though :(

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by 4815162342

    B+

     

    Fun and enjoyable. Appreciated the smaller scope and more personal story. Some of the Marvel-imposed rewrites were very very obvious (everything involving Falcon and the Avengers for one).

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by 4815162342

    Also if I'm not mistaken, asshat SHIELD dude who brokered the sale between Cross and HYDRA managed to get away with that vial of Cross Particles.

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by DeeCee

    Yes. And Michael Pena maintained the Marvel tradition of saving the public. Even going back for the hired goon.

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by Jim Shorts

    I wasn't a believer in Rudd as Ant-Man based based off the trailers, but I am now.  One of the best origin stories so far.  

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by kitik

    things that surprised me by their omission:

     

    (big spoilers, so don't click until after you've seen the movie)

     

     

    That said, I'm not complaining about any of those. The movie didn't need any of those. I had just considered them possibilities going into the movie. There's certainly nothing wrong with saving something for a sequel.

     

     

    By the way, we'll see what the box office says, but I'd totally be hyped for Ant-Man 2!

    At the very least, the first mid-credit scene set something up that we need to see at some point in the MCU.

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by Gopher

    Thought not having Wasp in this story was a bit of a missed opportunity. Would've tampered with the simplicity of it all but Lily was more than good enough in this film to deserve fighting alongside Scott at a molecular level.

    Takes a while to get going but once it does it's fun! Rudd is great, Pena is great, the climax is maybe Marvel's best, and it feels like everything Marvel wants to accomplish these days with their storytelling. I don't mind it.

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by Dexter of Suburbia

    Really disappointing with this one. I thought Rudd did a good job but the story was so boring. I just did not care about anything. The movie seemed to move so slow in parts. The third act way better than the 2nd act. The 2nd act really dragged the film for me.  I want to get invseted in this but I could not get anything to work. The visual worked well and did the humor. The villain did not work well for me. He was so boring and not menacing.  The action was done well and anytime Ant-Man became small it was fun to watch. 

    2/5 

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by Cmasterclay

    Certainly didn't love it but in a very weak summer for tentpoles quality wise outside of Mad Max, it's certainly entertaining enough. It misses opportunities to let its hair down and just get weird, but I appreciated the smaller-scale and more personal stakes. It's funny, but it never quite fell into a perfect tonal rhythm. The action is very well-choreographed but it gets repetitive- I would have trimmed some of the action or tried something different with it. It's cleverly plotted and emotionally accessible, though the MCU stuff feels even more shoehorned in than usual. The movie really benefits from a great cast. Rudd is great, though they never quite let him get fully into his best qualities like they did with Chris Pratt. He did great but it felt like he could have done even more with a bit tighter scripting and better direction. Douglas and Lilly are totally fine. Stoll is GREAT, probably my favorite MCU baddie (though it's not much competition.) He has such energy and charisma he eats up the screen whenever he's on it. The movie was better whenever he was in it. He lets his hair down the most of anyone in it (sorry, that sounds mean- dude is the poster for #BaldIsBeautiful), and he gives a deliciously hammy B-movie crazy man performance. Breaks the boring MCU villain mode, at least to me. Pena is fucking hilarious, and a huge highlight. And hey, T.I.! Dude showed out in this! The cast and the concept carried this to something good, though it needed some work in the editing and directing departments to really get to anything higher than that. Still, I was entertained. 

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by damienroc

    I went in with low expectations. Mostly I just needed to get out of the house and watch a movie. I was hoping for a couple hours of distracting entertainment and... I really did get that.

     

    Unlike a lot of recent MCU films, it managed to retain its light-hearted tone throughout. The stakes of it, despite Michael Douglas' gravitas, are pretty small-scale: all hints at bad things to come rather than any sort of realization of them. That helps the film remain somewhat grounded and doesn't give the sense that it's trying too hard.

     

    Additionally, while the typical hints about things to come are abound, the film itself doesn't suffer under the weight of the universe. It's a rare MCU film that doesn't seem like it's all set-up for the next film. That helps it retain the refreshing nature that's been missing from the franchise of late. (The last film to really do this in my opinion was IM3, which basically said "fuck it" and went all Shane Black.)

     

    Of course, it's not perfect. The villian is typically unconvincing, in that grand MCU fashion, and there's a few moments that are almost off-puttingly gruesome. Plus, other than a few cute perspective shots, the presentation of Ant-Man's powers isn't especially interesting or clever. The action works just fine, but it would have been nice to see a fight that had that inventive fun that Thor: The Dark World showcased in its climax. Still, it's probably better they erred on the side of caution rather than giving us a boring effects-fest a-la AoU or TWS.

     

    I still wonder why this is a story about Scott and not Hope. It works well enough, but even in the context of the movie it's not really satisfactorily answered.

     

    Supporting casting was pretty well done. I enjoyed Michael Pena a lot, and had an "Oh yeah!" moment when I recognized Avon Barksdale. It was a bit strange to see Judy Greer play almost exactly the same character as in Jurassic World. (I first and foremost think of her in the context of Archer, which makes any other character she plays seem a bit odd.)

     

    One thing that really seemed strange to me was that they'd give Haley Atwell the make-up to be an older Peggy, but didn't cast Dominic Cooper to do the same for Howard Stark. I honestly had no idea who John Slattery was supposed to be and thought I'd misheard Michael Douglas when he said "Stark!" at the beginning.

     

    Still, enjoyable enough. Not top tier MCU, but it's better than anything they've done in the past couple of years.

     

     

    Oh, one thing:

     

    I don't know for certain, but during his journey, I think there was an outline of a woman that could have been Jan. It was only onscreen for a moment, and might have been me projecting since I was deliberately looking for that, but it seems like they're hinting at that as a possibility for the future. It seems odd that they'd put so much into the twist that she didn't die but just got shrunk that they don't plan on bringing her back in the future.

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by DeeCee

    My first thought when he went sub atomic.

    Where's the bookcase? He has to communicate with Murphy.

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by 4815162342

     

    That's because John Slattery played older Howard Stark in Iron Man 2.

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by keysersoze123

    This movie had potential. Its not true origin of Ant-Man. I hope Marvel makes Hank Pym's origin. Also the magic of micro universe could have had greater focus. Another crappy Marvel villian who is by the book. Surprisingly its a marvel movie without any money shot.

     

    On the plus side Rudd was superb. There were good humor scenes. Specially the one where Lang calls for Avengers and Pena's narration(prefer the 1st one). Also the avengers reference was not distracting though we could have done without the falcon fight(though that was one of the better action scene) and focused more on the ant verse. Pena was solid and so was Douglas. Lily was fine but just another by the book character. Hope that changes once she becomes wasp. Another good sequence was the Tank scene for Pym/Hope to escape.

     

    Overall B and lower tier of marvel flicks but I liked it more than AOU or Thor TDW or IM2.

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by JohnnyGossamer

    Agree about the finale. It and Rudd's heist buddies, foremost Pena, are what I expect to give this one pretty awesome WOM.

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by bren85

    Ant-Man

    7 PM--7/16/15

    Regal RPX 3D showing in Kingston, MA

     

    Trailers:

    Mission Impossible-Rogue Nation: not really a trailer, more of a "Regal First Look", which focused on Cruise and the plane stunt

    Masterminds: looks terrible

    Batman v Superman: ballsy move by DC attaching this to a Marvel movie. Looked great on the big screen

    Goosebumps: looks like fun, a bit of a different cut to this trailer. Jack Black seemed to be trying to do some sort of accent, it was kind of distracting

    Everest: eh

    The Finest Hours: meh

    Fantastic Four: i don't know how i feel about this, honestly it looks "dead in the water" bad

    Star Wars: time for a new trailer, probably we'll get something at D23 Expo

     

     

    Movie: 

     

    It was good....not great, not bad, just good, ok-ish. I thought the action scenes were great, funny bit with the paddle and bug zapper. Pena's voiceover bits were good too, although some members of the audience got confused at the end. They didn't stay til the very end, after the credits, to get a better understanding of it. The Falcon fight was cool, nice to see the upgrades to Falcon's suit on display. But there were some parts that just seemed draggy

     

    Overall I'd give it a 7.5/10

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by DeeCee

    Pena's source explanations have to be straight Edgar Wright.

    Friday, July 17, 2015 by ChD

    The 'drama' in this movie fell flat on its face, but some of the comedic scenes are simply priceless. The gypsy line had my whole theater laughing (seeing as Romania is FILLED with gypsies and everyone hates them)
     

    Also the weird dog (ant) joke also had me laughing with tears.

    Edited by ChD
  • Amazon

 
Page 1 of 439